I need some famous lesbians

Don’t we all?

Seriously, though, I’ve been writing on the Little Lesbian Handbook and just got hung up on the Famous Lesbians bit, especially the historical lesbians because it seems like there is so little “proof” of anyone being an actual lesbian. Like Virginia Woolf? Maaaybe? Eleanor Roosevelt?  I kind of start with Sappho and then stare at the screen (this may also be because I’ve been typing on it all day.)

Anyway, if anyone out there could throw some historical lesbians, some lesbian writers, some lesbian musicians, lesbian artists, etc. into the comments I would be thankful for it!  PurpleSage has already got those lesbian films covered, I know. 😉

 

19 thoughts on “I need some famous lesbians

  1. I have a list of like 100 lesbian and bi women musicians. I’ll have to type it out and send it to you or something. It’s written on various pages of a magazine that I have a paper copy of. I suppose I can do that this weekend because it’s a long weekend! Have you read Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers by Lillian Faderman? I will send it to you in PDF when I’m on my computer. Lots of historical info on lesbians.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ex-First Lady – Rose Cleveland
    Singer/songwriter – Cris Williamson
    Tennis player – Amélie Mauresmo
    Author – Radclyffe Hall …Well of Loneliness
    Cartoonist – Alison Bechdel
    Politician – Premier of Ontario – Kathleen Wynne
    Actor – Ellen Page

    … and this is just the beginning! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You would already know her via Virginia Woolf, but Vita Sackville-West comes to mind. I don’t know if lesbians now would define her as bisexual, though, since she did have one affair with a man other than her husband. She certainly thought of herself as lesbian.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Okay I’ve narrowed down my huge list of musicians to include only a few who are particularly well-known and who are out and proud lesbians:

    Meshell Ndegeocello
    Alix Dobkin
    Melissa Etheridge
    k.d. lang
    Melissa Ferrick
    Janis Ian
    Tegan & Sara

    Also, here is a list of lesbian actress/comedians:
    Wanda Sykes
    Lea DeLaria
    Michelle Ehlen
    Sandra Bernhard
    Lisa Haas
    Ellen Degeneres (obviously)
    Rosie O’Donnell

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

